Displaying 1-20 of 58 results
Learn how we sort results
Do you want to learn how we sort our results? Read more about how courses are ranked in the search results.
  • = This course results in CPD hours
Displaying 1-20 of 58 results

What is the CIPD?

Founded over a hundred years ago under the name Welfare Workers’ Association, the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD) is the professional body for HR and people development. The CIPD is an independent and non-for-profit organisation that was incorporated under Royal Charter in 2000. It’s now the only professional body in the world that can confer individual Chartered status on HR and L&D professionals.

As the internationally recognised gold standard for HR and people development, the CIPD can provide HR and L&D professionals with a professional qualification that is respected in the UK and beyond.

Why get a CIPD qualification?

An HR and L&D qualification from CIPD helps professionals develop relevant and essential knowledge and skills at every step of their career. Studying at the foundation or intermediate level equates to Levels 3 and 5 on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) and allows you to add Assoc. CIPD after your name. The advanced level gives you Chartered Member status (Chartered MCIPD), which gives you access to the latest research and policy reports, senior networks, and a range of job opportunities. As a valued emblem of accomplishment in the field, a CIPD qualification is a must-have for any HR or L&D practitioner in the UK.

What levels of CIPD qualification are there?

As mentioned above, CIPD qualifications are divided into three levels: Foundation (3), Intermediate (5), and Advanced (7). Which level you choose depends on where you are in your career progression:

CIPD Level 3 is the foundation level. These A-Level standard courses are ideal for those just starting out in HR or L&D or who are working in a support role. 

CIPD Level 5 is the intermediate qualification level. This undergraduate degree-level qualification is ideal for those already working in HR or L&D who want to develop their knowledge and skills.

CIPD Level 7 is the advanced level. This postgraduate-level qualification is ideal for experienced professionals looking to advance to a strategic level and who aspire to become a Chartered Member.

What is CIPD Level 5?

As the intermediate qualification level of CIPD, Level 5 HR qualifications explore HR models and practices and deepen your understanding of the HR function within your organisation. Ultimately, CIPD Level 5 will develop your professional performance and strategic thinking. 

What qualification levels are there?

CIPD qualifications are divided into three sizes of qualification: Award, Certificate, and Diploma. 

CIPD Awards are ideal if you’re looking to focus on a specific HR or L&D subject. Awards are bite-sized programmes that range from 15 to 60 hours of study and will be completed over a month of part-time study.

CIPD Certificates cover the core skills for a career in HR or L&D and are comprised of six modules spanning 6-8 months.

CIPD Diplomas cover a wide breadth of subjects, leads to Associate membership, and are comprised of 8 modules over 8-10 months. 

Who should take a CIPD Level 5 course?

CIPD Level 5 is designed for those with some level of HR experience who are looking to progress in HR and L&D and apply for management roles.

It also suits people who have no prior HR experience, but who have previously studied at degree level.

Frequently asked questions

  • CIPD Level 5 refers to a set of qualifications offered by the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD). CIPD Level 5 is an intermediate level of study, designed for those who have experience in HR or L&D and are looking to progress further. The qualifications cover topics such as employment law, employee relations, resourcing and talent planning, and learning and development.

  • CIPD Level 5 exact equivalence may vary depending on the context and country. CIPD Level 5 qualifications are broadly equivalent to foundation degree level qualifications or the second year of an undergraduate degree program in the UK. They are Level 5 in England, Northern Ireland and Wales - comparable to Level 7 in Ireland, Level 9 in Scotland, Level 5 European Qualifications Framework. 

  • The duration it takes to complete CIPD Level 5 can vary depending on the mode of study, provider, and personal circumstances. Typically, it can take anywhere between 12 to 18 months to complete.

  • CIPD Level 5 qualification is designed for HR professionals who want to develop their expertise and progress to more senior roles. The qualification provides a comprehensive understanding of HR principles and practices, and can lead to a wide range of job opportunities, such as HR Business Partner, HR Manager, HR Consultant, Learning and Development Manager, and Talent Acquisition Manager.

  • The cost of CIPD Level 5 can vary depending on the mode of study, provider, and location. On average, the cost can range from £2,000 to £5,000. It's essential to research different providers and funding options, such as employer sponsorship or government funding, to find the best option for you.

Compare courses
Subscribe and get the latest news, discounts and giveaways sent straight to your inbox!